Waking up: Most of the time it doesn’t feel good, but sometimes it’s amazing

http://worldsciencefestival.com/videos/the_science_of_sleep

I woke up this morning full of energy and ready to get on with my day way earlier than I usually wake up. This is a very rare experience, but perhaps one of my favorites. Most days I wake up and really don’t want to get out of bed. I just want to sleep until I can’t sleep anymore. I’m curious why this is. I know there is a lot of scientific literature on the best conditions to wake up feeling good: a consistent bed time, a consistent wake time, not eating or drinking before going to bed, don’t be stressed, chill out for a while before going to bed, waking up during the right part of your sleep cycle…but I didn’t do any of those things right last night. I was up until 1 am or so and and woke up after 6 hours of sleep feeling great. This has happened before…I wake up after around 6 hours of sleep and feel great. I always say that I’m going to keep waking up after 6 hours, but never do. Perhaps 6 hours is what my brain and body optimally need to recharge (at least when the conditions are right). I’m curious about the flexibility of this ‘setting’ in our systems? For me it seems super flexible, which doesn’t work well for my productivity. I really hope I can figure it out. Part of the way that I’m currently trying to figure it out is by documenting my sleep with a sleep app called Sleep Cycle.
It has been super useful and helped make me more aware of my sleep patterns. I’d highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

